The King and I.

Tomorrow we take on the old rivals Hibernian at Hampden.

I’ll be making a feeble gesture not to turn up, my excuse being that to have 50 odd thousand supporters travel the 40 miles to Glasgow when there is a perfectly good stadium in the heart of Edinburgh just doesn’t make sense.
Extra petrol costs and hiked up train fares are no way treat fans in this day and age.

Mind you I’ll most likely travel those same miles should we reach the final. Just like I did with my old man back in 1956 to see my then hero, Willie Bauld, play his part in that Scottish cup victory defeating the Celts 3-1 in front of 132,840.

I’ve still got the great man’s autograph hidden away in a safe place at the back of a cupboard.

Will we be able to repeat the feat of 50 years ago?
Tomorrow will tell.

Willie Bauld1.jpg

All hail to The King of Tynecastle (circa 1957)

Leave a Reply

